top of page

Archäologie meets VR

About the coolest volunteer position in the world!


Oh dear people,

sometimes something really cool just has to happen!

A few weeks ago, I applied for the Blackbox.game project of the LWL Museum für Archäologie and the day before yesterday I actually got the acceptance!

After I got the go-ahead from the project management, I can now tell you a little bit about it!


But what is the black box anyway?

With the help of interactive media, such as virtual and augmented reality, archaeological working methods are to be made tangible. I was attracted to this position for many reasons:

Firstly, I want to go into the field of digital archaeology. Archaeology must finally arrive in the 21st century and become more accessible and transparent for everyone. To do this, of course, one must also expand one's working methods, and this is exactly what this project offers: participants work with innovation methods, such as design sprints, from NEEEU's repertoire, lidar scanning, photogrammetry, augmented reality, virtual reality & mixed reality glasses of the latest generation. Lidar scanning in particular excites me a lot, as one of my great idols Albert Lin does sooooo ingenious things with it in his documentaries! For example, new Mayan metropolises were found through lidar scanning. How cool is that! (I'm going to write an article on archaeological methods soon, where I'll explain everything :) )

Buddhist temple as VR display

And here's the really cool thing: people were selected from all the applicants and divided into two groups: the experts and 15 master builders. I really wanted to be part of the active creation process, but since the number of participants in the master builders group is so limited and exclusive, I honestly didn't have my hopes up too high.


Yes, and then I checked my e-mails and tadaaaaaa: I am a master builder and therefore a member of the development team! Amazing, isn't it?

Of course I did a happy dance yesterday and then told everyone who wanted to hear it (or not) that my application was successful :D


As a master builder, I now not only have the opportunity to incorporate my ideas into the game and help shape everything, no, I also get really cool stuff from the LWL.

Included in the so-called BaumeisterInnen Box are: Four workshops, several prototype tests, four joint excursions, annual passes for the participating museums, participation in selected museum events (depending on workload), museum material such as catalogues & publications (subject to availability), participation in excavations (subject to interest and opportunity) and last but not least, a certificate of honorary service. These are all such fantastic opportunities and I am really looking forward to working on this project!


So feel free to drop by NEEEU and Blackbox.game and check it all out! I will of course update regularly and tell you what I am learning and what tasks I get!


Network partner on Insta: @kulturstiftungdesbundes @lwlmuseum-archaeo @lwlroemermuseum @dbmbochum @unterirdis.ch




bottom of page