top of page

Unistart - Welcome to the absolute organisation madness!

So it's been a while since I last wrote to you. A lot has happened: Orga.Ersti-Stress, Corona has thrown a spanner in the works with one or two plans. But it was still cool (at least most of the time :D)

Let's start three weeks ago:

O-week at the WWU under Corona conditions. Lots of info events, voting for events, Zoom booze-ups, an improvised mini-meeting at the Aasee, which promptly gave me a cold, anticipation.

I was very lucky that the history student council really put together a very good programme for O-Week and explained everything, otherwise it wouldn't have all worked so smoothly.

What the AKÄV department (Ancient Cultures of Egypt and the Near East) had planned as an orientation day, on the other hand, was...interesting, to put it politely.

Since Münster had exceeded the dreaded incidence value of 50 during the O-week, the university was forced to switch back to online operation from face-to-face events. Big surprise...not.

That's why the planned orientation day at the institute was moved to Zoom. I don't think I've ever been in such a short meeting :D

After 5 minutes, when all 40 first-year students from the Bachelor's and Master's programmes were there, the following announcement came: "Since we can't show you the institutes and the library as planned, if there are no questions, we can basically end the meeting now.

I have rarely been so flabbergasted as I was at that moment. And then it was really over. They could have told us about the professional opportunities, about the events or simply started something to get to know each other via Zoom, so that the first-year students get a chance to network during Corona...

Well, at least there's a WhatsApp group... :D

Then it was straight on to creating the timetable and choosing courses. Normally, at all the universities I know, you choose the courses via the course catalogue by clicking on this nice button "Register/Deselect".

This is also the case at Münster University, but not for history or AKÄV. In 80% of the history courses, you are asked to "please send an email to the lecturer" in order to register for a course. And then you can pray that you will still get a place.

At AKÄV, everyone votes on the timing of the events, which can be really difficult with 25 people. But we managed to do it without anyone falling by the wayside :D


Unfortunately, I didn't get into the Arabic course this semester, but I did get into Latin I and I thank the Unigott for my lecturer. This woman LIVES her subject and you can't help but be motivated to work. One worry less :)


Of course, it's really stupid that you can only network online and can't just meet up with your study group in a café, but on the one hand you can't change it and so now I also have more time to study, read and watch documentaries :D



In the next article, I'll tell you what my studies consist of this semester.



bottom of page